Nett winner of Junior European Open

Posted: July 14, 2020 by thierry001 in Uncategorized

On 31st June 2020 I had my first golf competition since lockdown and what a day it was. I had waited 3 months plus to play a comp and it was a big one. It was a Junior European Open where some of the best golfers under 18 played which you could also qualify to Spain where it would be hosted by Sky Sports on TV. I played at Romsey Golf Club in Southampton, it was a tight course where you had to hit straight but i wasn’t. It was supposed to be howling with wind that day but we got lucky and it wasn’t. On the first tee it was quite nerve racking but there wasn’t too many people as we were one of the last groups out. It wasn’t a great start as i hit three balls off the tee. The first too went in the trees left and the other on the fairway. Luckily there was a spotter who found both and going on to get a five. The next few holes were good. After that i was all over the place scrambling but still getting good scores but getting quite luck aswell. My dad caddied me today which was good as it was quite hilly, he kept me a bit more calm although not much help for my shots. After 9 holes I was doing well and hoping to do well and hoping for a good round but then…

A couple holes in i’m doing well but I get to the tee and hit 50 yards left on the other fairway. It was quite embarassing because another group walked up whilst i was next to them. Then i hit a sand wedge into the trees, get it out, then an up and down to save bogey. I was very happy, it was my best save ever but then it followed up with a triple bogey. The last few holes were all pars finishing with ten over par, only 3 shots of qualifying and winning the nett score. Overall it was a great day leaving Romsey at 9pm. I recommend the course if you want a challenge.

Leave a comment